Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-11-2016
Accepted Solution

Please help with WorkCentre 7556 scanning setup

Please help newb here on dealing with these proffesional setups.

using this printer as personal home use and do quite a bit of printing for a local ministry.

 

Just aquired a secon hand WC7556 integrated controller low hours.  My setup is a simple one consisting of 5 Windows 8.1 x64 Destops on one workgroup connected via lan.

have dowloaded drivers and have printing working from all PC's.  can scan at MFP using tuoch ui.  but cannot get any of the computers to communicate with the scanner portion. Twain or Wia.  Go trough add scanner wizard and can get to user settings and  and shows default page but when i try to scan from pc  it gives me no scanner is connected error. would add that right clicking scanner that was added and clicking on diagniostic it says scanner driver has succesfully passed diagnostics. What gives?

so far have :

default xerox  digital certificate

HTTP and SSL enabled

Simple file sharing disabled at workstaion.

Really could use a step by Step guide have spent three weeks trying to make sense of all this 

would like to be able to use pc software see the twain driver but then states that scanner cannot be initialized.

 

Highlighted
Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,320
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Please help with WorkCentre 7556 scanning setup

TWAIN and WIA are terrible and slow, so first I will do the Workflow Scanning, then move on to TWAIN/WIA

 

Make sure the firmware is up to date, currently that would mean 061.121.226.12400.

 

Make sure the time is right, it matters with SMB2-3 and it matters if you are on HTTPs.

Port isn't 139 any more, it's port 445 for SMB2 or SMB3

 

Make sure the username is formatted as Windows requires, it isn't just usernames any more, there is Domains, HOSTS or an email address in wWindows 8 and above. Add the user in the folder permissions and security, get the proper format in the brackets.

 

2.GIF

 

3.GIF

 

Don't put the folder inside of the Users folder (C:\Users) Use the root of a drive and send a shortcut to the desktop if need be.

 

Right-clicking the folder and choosing Share With only applies to Windows Homegroup, no printer will access that.

 

So I shared the Xerox (C:\Xerox) folder on my Windows 8.1 test PC and verified the settings as above, scans on the latest firmware with no issue using the following template.

 

1.GIF

 

 

As for the TWAIN/WIA issues. This is the driver I used.

Installed it manually via Scanners and cameras and chose the driver via Have Disk (Choose WIA, not TWAIN)

 

1.GIF

 

After it completed, selected it and clicked Properties > Administrator Options and connected the driver to the printer via the IP address

 

2.GIF

 

Then in Windows Fax and Scan choose New Scan and select the printer just installed by name.

 

3.GIF

 

Try with Windows Firewall disabled if it still wont work

 

If you go to the 7556 does the WIA template show up?

If yes, does it work if you try it? (You will need to put in the user/pass when initiating from the MFP)

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-11-2016

Re: Please help with WorkCentre 7556 scanning setup

Thank You for your reply i will give it a go and report back Greatly appreciate it.
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-11-2016

Re: Please help with WorkCentre 7556 scanning setup

Well have been up several hours gotta go to sleep. no Luck.

At the machine, Template shows up when scanning it displays completed then in job status it shows deleted 

Job could not be sent, a connection to the server could not be establisded.

I'll have to try again over the weekend. Are there any windows processes that i should be making sure are running? example allow remote connections enable/disable file sharing?

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,320
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Please help with WorkCentre 7556 scanning setup

My guess is Windows Firewall, or a 3rd party firewall.

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-11-2016

Re: Please help with WorkCentre 7556 scanning setup

Well I am a witts end.   getting the same message error at the WC 7556 Display.  Job status under jobs completed it shows job deleted .  and reads"the job could not be sent a connection to server could not be established".   Now this has me puzzled because now even though I recieve this error the scanned image is showing up at the share.  In other words I am succesful at scanning to the share from the machine.even though it triggers the error. 

As for the WIA driver I click on properties for the Wia added but configuration window never shows up if I nstall the TWAIN and double click it the configuration window does appear but cannot initialize scanner. Other than WorkFlow scanning No Wia or Twain icon at machine.

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,320
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Please help with WorkCentre 7556 scanning setup

There can't be a WIA or TWAIN icon on the machine, that wouldn't be WIA or TWAIN at all, just scan to SMB/FTP.

If either is setup right on the PC, a template will appear in Network Scanning as a template though.

And it can't initialize until after you put the IP of the scanner in the Administrator Options of the driver properties.

As for the successful failures, that is a known issue in older firmwares but not in the one I linked, so if that still happens I suggest calling in to Xerox and reporting it to 2nd level (assuming you have a maintenance agreement)

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-11-2016

Re: Please help with WorkCentre 7556 scanning setup

Okay,  So I decided to start from scratch and did an Altboot Forced Upgrade overwriting the already up to date SPAR firmware.

Re-enabled HTTPS and Recreated repositories and Templates also set Time format to 24 hour.

I will like to give you thanks for your patience and thourough responses. It is now up and working and quite happy with Workflow scanning and no error to report.

New Member
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-11-2016

Re: Please help with WorkCentre 7556 scanning setup

Forgot to mention that I ensured to have the Network Lan cable disconnected from machine when I did the Altboot procedure. Kudos!!!!