Support Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-06-2017
Accepted Solution

Setting up C405 scan to pc

[ Edited ]

Hi,

struggling to set up scanning to my pc, can't work out how to do it. 

Have a VersaLink C405 that I got last week - printing is fine, faxing fine, but cannot scan.

From looking through here, in handbook (not that great imo), and google searches I have tried to make an address book entry for the PC I want to scan to, and a folder that I have shared - is this via the SMB field?

 

xerox smb.png

No idea what info needs to be input for it to work though, and can't find any guides that explain this accurately

Any help is appreciated

thanks,

Clive

 

Sorry - forgot to add: windows 10 home, version 1703, os build 15063.608, 64 bit

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,909
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Setting up C405 scan to pc

Capture.JPG

 

IP of PC = Click on your start menu, type CMD and hit the Enter key. Type ipconfig in the new window and hit Enter

2.JPG

 

Find the IPv4 address and put it in the first field

 

3.GIF

 

Now, we need the Share

 

Click on the Start menu and this time type 2 back slashes and the IP address found in the above and hit Enter

(In my case it is Start > \\192.1638.2.36 > Enter

 

In my case, I will find "Scans" and "Users", and I want to send them to Scans

 

12.GIF

 

So now I type Scans in the box for the Share

 

Document path is not needed, leave it blank

 

Login name is finicky, format it like it is found here (in the brackets), just right-click your shared folder in Windows and go to Properties, get to the point in the screenshot and add your username you use to log on and make sure it has Full control, then type in the username as it exists within the brackets

 

win10SMB.GIF

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-06-2017

Re: Setting up C405 scan to pc

Thanks very much, all working now

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-04-2017

Re: Setting up C405 scan to pc

Hi,

 

I've got this working on a C405DNW to a share called Scans. 

 

All I want to do now is scan to a sub-folder of the Scans share for each user. So I've put the sub-folder name into the "Document Path" box, but it throws an SMB DOS protocol error 1-005. 

 

So:

Share:                    Scans

Document Path:     <blank>

works

 

But:

Share:                    Scans

Document Path:     User1

 

nor:

 

Share:                    Scans

Document Path:     \User1

 

doesn't. The folder \\Scans\User1 exists with the correct permissions. 

 

I spoke to Xerox tech support on the phone and they suggested setting up a seprate share for each user, but that sounds really messy and I'd rather use the document path field as that's exactly what I think it's for?

 

Any suggestions please?

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,909
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Setting up C405 scan to pc

Unshare the User1 folder and try again.

I've seen these things work absolutely fine if you simply create a folder in a share.

I have also seen them fail miserably if you manually share the folder that is in the share.

In most cases, when it fails, it can be made to work via just not using the share (Scans in your case)

 

I spoke to Xerox tech support on the phone and they suggested setting up a seprate share for each user, but that sounds really messy and I'd rather use the document path field as that's exactly what I think it's for?

That path is just to go deeper in a share, which is what you are doing. But, if you actually are sharing them, there is no reason to actually have Scans at all, it is just another box to fill in that case.

 

 

 

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-24-2018

Re: Setting up C405 scan to pc

I cannot understand why something as simple as scanning to your PC, which we have been doing easily since the 1990's, all of a sudden requires an IT degree to be able to setup on a 2017 model?

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-24-2018

Re: Setting up C405 scan to pc

How do you first get to the SMB Screen you are showing?  It would be great if directions included the steps of where to first go to solve or troubleshoot a problem?  I am so frustrated that this unit is so difficult to setup?  The GUI and software for this unit is like a throw back to something from the 1980's.

 

My SMB screen under the Connectivity Tab, looks like this below, so I can not even attempt to replicate your fix for this most simple, basic need, scanning to a computer.  

 

Port
 
WINS Server Address Acquisition by DHCP
 
Primary WINS Server Address
 
Secondary WINS Server Address
 

CancelOK
Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,909
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Setting up C405 scan to pc

 80% of the setup isn't Xerox, it is Apple/Microsoft/Linux etc etc. And yet, I covered every single step for the user with pictures for every step for their scenario, and they got it working from those steps without question.

 

As for where you put the info on the Xerox portion, EWS > Address Book > Add Contact > Network (SMB)

 

1.JPG

 

2.JPG

 

3.JPG

 

4.JPG

 

If you have some special issue unlike what is posted in a thread, start a new one, name your specifics and kindly ask for help, adding to a solved thread with nothing but complaints does nothing for anyone but make it harder for the person who needs help and is using the search to find a resolution to their issue to find it by just adding garbage data to sort through.

 

If you think you are more capable than anyone else, go ahead and start helping people in threads that are not solved.

 

If you have a specific issue, be nice, start a thread, be polite and clearly describe what issue you have and maybe someone will help you.

 

If you are just looking to complain, feel free to do so, just don't expect a great outpouring of kindness and help in the end.

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎03-27-2018

Re: Setting up C405 scan to pc

username and right come from were ??? in the SMB  login name ......

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,909
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Setting up C405 scan to pc

The name and password comes from your PC, assuming your own login uses a password you can use it.

 

My screenshot shows how to make sure you format it correctly, just search my post (or this page) for finicky

 

see here

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.