Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Xerox Analyst
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Routing by size not working properly

Acrobat can do this check with the Preflight tool.

Screen Shot Rotated Page in Acrobat

I have attached the Prefligt profile. This can be used to sort out roated documents in a workflow.

Highlighted
Frequent Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-23-2017

Re: Routing by size not working properly

ok I see in the files where it says rotate 90  degrees. I have also tested wcompared to Process Manager and I see that Process Manager identifies the file size properly where Freeflow Core does not. Why is this? This is causing us alot of issues when we try to route based on size and it is new to us because we never had this issue in Process manager. By the way we are processing hundreds of client supplied PDF files each day and it is impossible for us to go into the code of each one and see if it has been rotated.

Frequent Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-23-2017

Re: Routing by size not working properly

Even adding this check, which would be too cumbersome with the amount of files we are dealing with, I do not see any kind of actual fix that will work. Any suggestions?

Xerox Analyst
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Routing by size not working properly

Yes, I’m sorry the explanation was not complete. I was about to give you some more information. When I need to do a Route by size I set up the route with the dimension in both ways but I combine that with the Rotation I would like to check for. In this way you will always be able to route in the way you want.

Screen Shot Route

Be sure to set all conditions within one set to be met but Policy between sets should be "Any".

 

As mentioned in this thread, the size of for example the Crop Box in a PDF is like it where designed/set up in the original document. A document set up in Indesign as 8,5x11 will have a Crop Box 8,5x11 but if this document is rooted in Acrobat it will still have a Crop box 8,5x11 but a rotation of 90 or 270 degrees. This has nothing to do with FF Core. You can check it with tools like Callas PDF Tool Box or Pitstop.

Xerox Analyst
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Routing by size not working properly

I would like to take a step back and ask you to think about if you need to route your files into different “paths”? Unlike Process Manager you do not always have to send files through different paths in FF Core. If we look at the Imposition Component for example, one Impose can handle both landscape and portrait documents. In FF Core Impose we have the Automatic sheet size, the automatic rotation of the sheet and the Auto rows & columns features which in most cases make it unnecessary to use more than one Impose. For example in a Booklet workflow, we could have an Impose with two Stages. First stage is creating the booklet imposition with a margin (to keep bleed and crop marks) and then in the second stage we do a Step & Repeat with auto Rows & columns and Auto rotation of the sheet.

Screen Shot different sizes

This shows Portrait and landscape after been sent through the same imposition.

 

The attached Impose “Signature - Book Repeated Max up on Tabloid Extra” will give Letter Booklets one up, The Statement sized booklets will be two up and the half size of that will be four up. Documents in both Portrait and Landscape will be handled correctly. If you have documents in custom formats you will be able to run them in the same Impose as long as they fit on the Tabloid Extra sheet size. In other situations you might use the option of choose the Automatic sheet size but you check for the sizes you would like to Impose your document on. The impose will then choose the best fit for the imposition.

 

Don't forget that many components also have a built in choice for which files should be affected by the "fix". For example the Resize could be applied to a page range or files of a special size or a special orientation. 

Screen Shot 2018-02-06 at 21.47.06.png

Frequent Member
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-23-2017

Re: Routing by size not working properly

Thanks for this! The routing characteristic seems to have worked as a fix for the issue we were having.

Xerox Analyst
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎10-25-2011

Re: Routing by size not working properly

And here is another way of doing it. Insert a Preflight fix and a Join before your Route by size.

Apply Page rotation 

 

The Preflight profile (attached) will apply the rotation so that the Crop box will change accordingly. The Join will apply this to Core (you will need it to make it work).

 

Now the Route will work as you want. For example a 11x8.5 document which is landscape on screen but is Rotated (like the files we have talked about earlier in this post) will now be detected as a 11x8.5 Crop Box.