Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: 3 weeks ago

Clean user data

Hello, my Company is going to replace the existing Xerox printers with a complete set of new ones. Is there a way to completely erase all data stored into the printers we are going to change? I refer to images of printed, scanned, copied docs, if such images exist somewhere into the memory of the printers. Models are 58xx, 57xx series. Thank you very much.
Community Manager
Posts: 2,492
Registered: ‎07-21-2010

Re: Clean user data

Hi CastelXerox,

Thank you for using the Support Forum. Please take a look at this document that explains how the memory in your machines work.  Then follow the instructions for Image Overwrite for WorkCentre 58xx and WorkCentre 57xx.  If you need further information please consider contacting your support centre for further assistance.

Thanks,
CherylO-Xerox
Community Manager

Be sure to click Kudos for those who have helped you.
Select Accept as Solution for posts that have helped to solve your issue(s)!

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 4,906
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Clean user data

Easily done on the 58XX

 

as admin go to Machine Status > Tools > Device Settings > General > Erase Customer data and run that, all settings will be lost.

That is not a feature on older products like the 57XX, for that you would need to do an Altboot, no data backup , or get Xerox to do one. It is a manual process done via booting from a USB key with a very specific file structure. The altboot process is identical for both devices, the only thing that would change is the firmware file for each family.

 

Send me a PM if needed.

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.