Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Remote Control Panel in Altalink C8045 C8035

Hello,

we've just taken delivery of a pair of the Altalink class machines, a C8045 and C8035.

 

On the previous gen WorkCentre machines, I was able to get access to the Remote Control Panel for testing purposes in remote sites, which was really handy.  This usually involved a bit of Java configuration voodoo, and only worked in certain web browsers, certain versions of those browsers, but it was an invluable tool when it worked.

 

The new Altalink web UI is laid out like a kid's tablet.  It's big and wide and wasteful, but it's fast and responsive, so I can't complain too much.  The reason for my post today is that I can't for the life of me seem to get the Remote Control Panel to launch successfully.  It just launches into a window, Firefox talks about negotiating TLS, back and forth, finally opening to a dark grey scaled down browser window, and that's it.

 

I think the Altalink interface has abandoned Java, since so many browsers are blocking it by default, if allowing it at all, but I can't be positive.

 

Apparently you can install a certificate to avoid these kinds of problems, and Xerox is providing generic certificates on the Remote Control page of the web UI.  I've installed it, but the instructions aren't specific about whether the certificate needs to go into a particular store.

 

Has anyone successfully gained access the Remote Control Panel to control a copier from a remote location through the web UI?

 

Does Xerox monitor these forums, or is it community only?

 

remote control.png

 

 

Member
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-18-2017

Re: Remote Control Panel in Altalink C8045 C8035

Just tested with our C8070 and works fine with no special setup, etc... However, I was using Google Chrome.

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,229
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Remote Control Panel in Altalink C8045 C8035

[ Edited ]

I can use it without issue in Firefox 55 32 bit.

My only extensions are uBlock origin (enabled) and Tab Mix plus -Legacy (enabled)

 

I have not installed the certificates in Firefox.

 

There may be a firmware out that that isn't working, I'm on the latest and working fine. (First attempt and the window just disappears, 2nd attempt it works in both browsers)

 

Firefox

2.JPG

 

Chrome

chrome.JPG

 

Here are the latest releases

 

C8030-C8035

C8045-C8055

C8070

 

B80XX (all)

 

 And it is not java anymore, just HTTPs, it uses ports in the 59XX range as far as I know, so if not for your 8070 working, it may have been a blocked port scenario since Connectkey used ports in the 6XXX range

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Re: Remote Control Panel in Altalink C8045 C8035

Thanks Joe, you may be on to something with the firmware.

I'm currently running 100.001.097.23430

From your linke, looks like most recent is 100.002.097.23430

 

Side question: is there an easier way to pull the firmware than exporting the device configuration to .csv?

Support > General > Download file to computer

 

We are on leases/maintenance agreements with local vendors for these machines, typically cycling in new ones ever 3-4yrs or so.  Is this something I can typically do an in-place upgrade with by myself without having to reconfigure the machine from scratch, or does it wipe everything?

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Re: Remote Control Panel in Altalink C8045 C8035

[ Edited ]

Thanks TC.  Weird. Yeah, not working for me under any browser; Chrome, IE, nor Firefox.

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,229
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Remote Control Panel in Altalink C8045 C8035

803X is 001

 

804x and 805X are 002

 

If you are already on a release ending in 23430 then you are, as of today, already on the latest release.

 

This is how Xerox does firmware versions:

altalink.jpg

 

Side answer:

EWS > Properties > General Setup > Configuration Report > Software Versions

 

1.JPG

 

2.JPG

 

And at the machine (Or the Control panel you cannot use)

Device

3.JPG

 

About

 

4.JPG

 

 

5.JPG

 

So since stuff that should be working isn't for you and is for me, Wireshark is your friend.

 

EWS > Properties > Security > Logs > Network Troubleshooting

 

9.JPG

 

Turn that on, Try to run the tool, stop the session in EWS, download and open the trace and hopefully you will find where the blockade is.

 

If you can't diagnose like that, you would need to scan a copy of the Configuration report from the Printer, log the IP address/Hostname of the client PC, and the Basic Support logs from the machine (right under Network troubleshooting). Then call Xerox, get to 2nd level support and supply all that to them to get the Discovery team and or Engineering to figure out what is wrong.

 

My guess is you have a proxy or firewall issue.

 

Lastly, upgrading doesn't lose data unless you do what is called an Altboot , and there is no chance of that accidentally occurring. Obviously there are no 100% certainties in Software/Network/Firmware though, <redacted> can go wrong, but not very often.

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-01-2017

Re: Remote Control Panel in Altalink C8045 C8035

Great info there, thanks Joe. I'll do some 'sperimentin' and post back with results.