Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2017
Accepted Solution

SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

Hi everyone. We're using a Xerox C75 and enjoyed great success with using SIQA to do alignment adjustments. The original computer we were using was an old desktop that had been on its death bed for several years, and when that finally bit the dust, we were without SIQA for awhile.

 

We then got a little Lenovo Ideapad laptop, since we only needed a computer to use SIQA and Command Workstation (all of our prepress and design is Mac-based). We were able to use SIQA using a download from the Xeretec website, but as of late it's been giving us the error, "there has been an error with the adjustment values. The alignment adjustment will be canceled." No matter how many times we do it, or how careful we are with aligning the little squares, we get this error. Consequently, we've not been able to perform an alignment adjustment and all of our duplexed work is coming out with horrible registraton.

 

Our tech says that it's because we're using the laptop over a wifi network, but that doesn't explain why it was working before. We're also able to do the density uniformity adjustment, so I have to believe that if there were connectivity issues, that would also fail. SIQA appears to be communicating with the machine fine, it's just that it's giving us an error regarding the adjustment values.

 

The machine has been moved from one room to another recently, and yesterday the tech came in to do a base line registration adjustment. I've tried reinstalling the software, but still can't get it to work. The customer service we get from the company that handles our contract is pretty poor and they're quite slow. Any ideas on how we can get up and running?

 

Appreciate it,

- Lantz

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,028
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

Do a complete removal on the laptop of all SIQA.(National Instruments software and SIQA)

 

Reboot

 

Install fresh from this link after a reboot.

 

If still fails, tech is probably right, but you would need a Wireshark trace of the SIQA setup to priove where it fails, but it would be vastly simpler to simply plug the laptop in physically.

 

If the copier itself caused the issue all you would need to do is delete and recreate the SIQA folder manually. (Attachment)

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2017

Re: SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

Hi Joe,

 

Thanks for your response to this. I tried everything you mentioned and it still failed. It's really weird that it doesn't work, I really think we've had success since we switched to this laptop, and that the trouble only started when we moved the machine. I suppose the next step is to buy one of those USB-to-Ethernet adapters so I can plug directly in and see what happens with that.

 

I'll be sure to report back on Monday.

 

- Lantz

Occasional Advisor
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎02-13-2013

Re: SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

It doesn't seem to be a communication issue especially if density uniformity is working.

Are you only having a reg issue with duplex?

What weight is the paper? What size is the paper?

Have you tried it with a lighter weight paper to see if it makes a difference?

Is the black template dark enough?

 

 

New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2017

Re: SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

Hi Joe,

 

Thanks for your response. Yes, I thought the same thing. I guess at this point I should try to do a density uniformity adjustment to make sure I'm not a liar - but I've actually done one of those much more recently than an alignment adjustment.

 

The registraton issue is worse with duplexed jobs but even single-sided jobs are very skewed, and we need to pay extra attention on the cutter and do maybe some unconventional things to make sure the finished product comes out okay. It's really on every kind of paper we run, since none of them have been adjusted recently, but we mostly use 100# cover, 80# cover, and 70# text, all uncoated, 12x18 or 13x19. The lighter stock didn't yield better results.

 

I've done some thinking about the black template, I guess it's possible that it's not black enough? I think it should be fine but I'm honestly just grasping at straws. I emailed our tech yesterday and today with no response, so all of our jobs are currently on hold. A pretty bad situation to be in. I'll look into the template some more to see if printing it darker would help, but in the meantime, feel free to let me know if you think of anything else!

 

- Lantz

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,028
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

Wasn't me, you were responding to fiery

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2017

Re: SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

Whoops, you're correct. Apologies, Fiery!
Occasional Advisor
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎02-13-2013

Re: SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

Do you get the error when you try the siqa alignment with 11x17 24lb paper or similar?

New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2017

Re: SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

Hey Fiery,

 

No, we've only tried doing it with stock we actually use. We actually never keep 11x17 24lb around because we don't use it for anything. We do have some laying around that the tech brought last week to do the base line adjustment so I can try doing that later today and see what happens.

 

If it works, what would that tell me? And if it doesn't work, what would THAT tell me? It sounds like we can't get the SIQA person to come until Tuesday but we've got jobs backing up so we may just need to proceed the best we can and get it all out the door. 

 

Thanks,

- Lantz

New Member
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-06-2017

Re: SIQA Error on a Xerox C75

Ok, here's an update:

 

1) I tried doing an alignment adjustment on 11x17 20# bond paper out of Tray 6, and that was successful.

 

2) I then tried doing an alignment adjustment on 12x18 70#T out of Tray 6, and that gave me a familiar message about the adjustment values being out of range, but says, "would you like to make the adjustment anyway?" I selected yes, as doing that has proven to work fine in the past. That adjustment was also successful.

 

3) I then tried doing an alignment adjustment on 12x18 80#C out of Tray 3, and that gave me the same message as above. The adjustment was successful.

 

4) So I moved on to 13x19 100#C out of Tray 6, which is by the far the paper we use the most, as we do a ton of business cards and postcards. This one is still giving me an error.

 

So now where does that leave us? The paper is Neenah Environment, pre-cut to 13x19. We've used this paper for a couple of years and have never had an issue doing alignment adjustments until now. The error message doesn't give me any information as to what the problem could be, but so far we've ruled out a communication issue since the density uniformity works (forgot to mention that I tried that first to double-check the communication) and the other papers have seemingly been adjusted.

 

Is there something in the machine that would give it an issue adjusting 257-300gsm, which is the max range we can run on this machine (the paper in question is 270gsm)? There's nothing about our situation that has changed except for the machine is in a different room now than it was a few months ago. 

 

Thanks for everyone's help and hopefully we can figure this out.

 

- Lantz