Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2017
Accepted Solution

Invalid Toner Phaser 6600 with new Genuine toner

Hi,

 

I just bought Genuine toner for Phaser 6600 / 6605 and when i installed it , first i have toners status and then message  : " Invalid Yellow".

 

I read that toners have to be from the same region like old one . i checked it and both are made in Japan .

 

Is there any way to fix that or toner is faulty ? 

 

Thank you for any suggestions .

Highlighted
Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 5,206
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Invalid Toner Phaser 6600 with new Genuine toner

Where it is made doesn't change, where it is for does. All is held in a chip on the toner.

 

There is no difference beyond the chip that is in it.

 

There is no big conspiracy, the only reason there are regions is because of countries/areas that have things like the VAT that make things cost more than they do in areas near them, it puts an end to cross border shopping as it were.(There was a time not too far back where it was cheaper for an Australian to fly to the USA, buy Adobe creative suite, then fly home, for cheaper than buying Creative suite in Australia)

 

Sold vs metered is just so that Xerox knows if you used a 3rd party toner, or if you are trying to claim that a device that is not on contract has one. I'm sure the marketing types have some fabulous reasons too.

 

It does occasionally really make things difficult for the end user, but, it is what it is.

 

It is not just Xerox, that doesn't make it better of course, but it isn't just Xerox

 

Assuming you have the right one for your printer (metered vs sold) and from the right area (North America, DMO, Asia Pacific) then it would be defective.

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2017

Re: Invalid Toner Phaser 6600 with new Genuine toner

Thank you for reply. 

 

I just get new genuine toner from xerox and i have same error message .... 

 

INVALID YELLOW

 

Do you have some other solution for that ? 

Is there any manual how to clean this model . maybe i need to clean some place ( chip , etc ) 

 

Thank you for any reply 

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2017

Re: Invalid Toner Phaser 6600 with new Genuine toner

Hi,

 

I just look at my toners.... 

 

One that is working have code : *B792*  ( is empty so i have message to replace toner but i dont have INVALID YELLOW ) 

and the new genuine from xerox ( i have 3 now and all have same problem ... ) have code : *B116*

 

Is this a problem ? what can i do to fix it ?

 

IMG_1270.JPGIMG_1270.JPG

 

 

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-25-2017

Re: Invalid Toner Phaser 6600 with new Genuine toner

I have the same problem with 2 Xerox Phaser 6000 printers bought at the same time.

 

Xerox locks the printer, so you can't even use genuine toner. Xerox can unlock the printer, but will properly cost more than the printer itself.

 

https://www.techdirt.com/articles/20150815/02480731963/your-toner-is-no-good-here-region-coding-ink-...

 

So get rid of it and buy another brand of printer that doesn't have software that locks the printer.

 

I bought a Samsung printer and had NONE problems whatsoever and the print quality is way better than Xerox ever was.

New Member
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2017

Re: Invalid Toner Phaser 6600 with new Genuine toner

I just fix the problem .

 

The problem was that toners that i bought from Xerox (genuine 2k EUROPE ) and i get INVALID YELLOW with every single one . 

 

Toners are not cheap so i didnt bought USA/KANADA region next genuine toner . I bought RESET CHIP with USA/KANADA model .

 

And now it works . 

 

No i need to buy 2 CHIPs more to fix issue with 2 others toners that i bought .