Support Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-08-2018

ColorQube 8900 Wireless

Hey guys,

 

We have a ColorQube 8900 in my office which we are trying to get to connected to our wifi network. We have an ethernet cable running straight from the router into the printer, and are hoping the printer will be identifiable by all the wireless devices in the room. Is this possible to do this without buying an add-on for the printer? All of our computers are running windows 10. If there's any more info I can provide that would be helpful let me know!

 

Thanks in advance,

Andrew.

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 6,024
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: ColorQube 8900 Wireless

If the printer is plugged into the LAN and is to stay that way, it plays no part in the issue if the wireless devices can't see it, the LAN does. TYpically a wired and wireless LAN is all done by one access point (router) and the 2 networks are exactly the same, so all devices have exactly the same access to all the other ones.

 

So if your wired devices can see the printer but the wireleess ones can't, it would also stand to reason that the wired printers can't see the wireless printers, because the LAN(s) is/are the issue.

 

If they are found to be 2 separate networks, you would need to bridge them.

 

If a wired PC and a wireless PC can see each other internally, then the printer is not using the same default gateway or subnet as the PC's are.

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-08-2018

Re: ColorQube 8900 Wireless

Ok, so first I'm going to assume from your reply that this printer is capable of having devices connect to it wirelessly if it is plugged directly into the router? If that is the case, then I just need to check on any of the other devices which are already connected to this network, and find out which gateway or subnet they are using. Perhaps then I will need to go into the settings on the printer and make sure that it is using the same gateway or subnet, and if it is not, change it to match the other devices. I will play around with this and see what happens. If I can get it to work, I'll definitely hit that 'resolved' button.

 

Thank you for your reply!

 

Andrew.

New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-08-2018

Re: ColorQube 8900 Wireless

So after messing around with the settings for a while, I noticed that there was a message that kept coming up on the printer saying that the network cable was unplugged. I decided to take the ethernet cable out of the printer and try it with my laptop. I was unable to connect using that cable, meaning that either the cable is bad or the port on the router is faulty. I think this is the problem, as the printer was occasionally able to recieve print requests from various computers on the network, but unable to print them. I'll keep posting as we figure this out.

New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-08-2018

Re: ColorQube 8900 Wireless

So, the network cable was faulty, now we've fixed that. The printer still is convinced that the network cable is unplugged. I've changed the ipv4 to match the address on the router, and also changed the gateway to be almost completely the same as the ones on the surrounding computers. (eg. the one on the computer is 192.168.1.2, and the printer is 192.168.1.3.) Still the printer says network cable unplugged. What else can I try?!

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 6,024
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: ColorQube 8900 Wireless

The printer still is convinced that the network cable is unplugged.

I've changed the ipv4 to match the address on the router,

You can't have 2 devices with the same IP address, and if you made the printer have the router address, you just made every device on the LAN have a 50/50 shot at failing every attempt to reach out to the LAN for every reason, a router is called a Gateway for a reason

 

and also changed the gateway to be almost completely the same as the ones on the surrounding computers. (eg. the one on the computer is 192.168.1.2, and the printer is 192.168.1.3.)

 

Every single device on the LAN should have exactly the same Gateway, that is how networks work, each node contacts the Gateway for every transaction as it routes the information (Thus the name Router)

 

 

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-08-2018

Re: ColorQube 8900 Wireless

Hey I hear you loud and clear. I changed the IPV4 on the printer to automatically assign, and it is unique from the ones on the computers. Also I changed the gateway to be the same as the one I found on the router. I am beginning to suspect that the actual ethernet port on the printer may be faulty. It continues to say that the network cable is unplugged. Not sure what to do if that is the case...