Support Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-19-2017
Accepted Solution

Getting Confirmation Email Every 30 Days with Nothing to Print

Need some help - My company has the mobile print solution installed. I used it by sending an email to a box and it allows to retrive on any printer. I used the function a few times and may have had one time when I didn't pickup and print the job on an actual printer. I am now getting a message every 30 days saying that a new number has been assigned for this old print job. When I try to retrieve it there is nothing in the print job. The helpdesk says there is nothing they can do to fix this. This is utterly baffling. Is there a way for the admin to kill the print job so that it stops trying to regenerate a new confirmation every 30 days and sneding it to me?

Xerox Employee
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎10-03-2012

Re: Getting Confirmation Email Every 30 Days with Nothing to Print

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

Is your comany using the Xerox Print Management and Mobility Service Suite solution? Please confirm this.

 

If so, the email you are receiving every 30 days is to be expected. Your Print Administrator has set the Confirmation Number Expiration to a duration of 30 days. This means that every 30 days, you will receive an email indicating your new Confirmation Number to use when you print. The confirmation number is used to retrieve any jobs that you send via email. If you have not sent any new print jobs, you will not see anything at the printer when you enter this confirmation number. 

 

If you do not wish to get the email that indicates your new Confirmation Number every 30 days, you must contact your Print Administrator and tell them to delete or disable your user account.

 

Thank you,

Xerox Mobile Print Admin

 

"Innovating how the world communicates, connects and works."
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-19-2017

Re: Getting Confirmation Email Every 30 Days with Nothing to Print

Thanks for the fast response - the answer is yes and your kind response indicates that this is expected behaivor from the system.

 

Now some user feedback: The email notification is very confusing for me and my colleagues. When the mobile print solution is installed we did not receive a number for us to remember. Instead we received it when we submitted our first print job. As such, we assocaite confirmation numbers with specific print jobs. So when we get the auto-generated email every 30 days we think there is a print job for us to pickup. And there is not. Bad user experience with a xerox product.

 

Second, someone in the design team must think that end users are going to track or set aside this number every 30 days. We are not. We will wait when we get the confirmation email after we send in a specific email package. As such, this is just email clutter in our boxes, Another bad user experience. I would recommend that this 30 day number regeneration and notice be discontinued and users get a number for each print job.

Xerox Employee
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎10-03-2012

Re: Getting Confirmation Email Every 30 Days with Nothing to Print

You can actually provide this feedback to your Print Administrator. The 30-day notification email is something that can be disabled for your company, this way, you only receive an email with your confirmation number when you submit a print job.

 

Thank you,

Xerox Mobile Print Admin

"Innovating how the world communicates, connects and works."
New Member
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-19-2017

Re: Getting Confirmation Email Every 30 Days with Nothing to Print

Can you tell me how so I can pass it along to my administrator? or point me to a resource? They state that they cannot change this notification that comes every 30 days. Thus the question that prompted this - Thanks

Xerox Employee
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎10-03-2012

Re: Getting Confirmation Email Every 30 Days with Nothing to Print

[ Edited ]

The Print Administrator needs to perform the following in order to disable this feature:

  1. Navigate to the Web Portal Company tab.
  2. Select Policies
  3. On the General tab under Policies, they will see the options below. Uncheck Enable Confirmation Number Expiration

Note: Currently, there is no way to disable the emails but keep the Confirmation Number Expiration feature Enabled. 

Capture.PNG

"Innovating how the world communicates, connects and works."