Support Community
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2017

Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

Xerox Workcenter 7970 printer won't recognize that I've loaded custom size paper in the bypass tray even though I've specified the dimensions in the control center. The job status says "resources required" and then tells me to load the paper. But the paper is already loaded. I'm trying to print on a 4.5" x 11" document (green Scantron). I also have the document settings set up in Word to the corrent paper size. Printing from a Macbook Pro. Any thoughts?

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 6,013
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

Got a screenshot of the error on the device? If it is asking for what is currently in the tray, it is almost always because of Stock type/color being wrong, or the wrong orientation, and the little warning screen actual shows which way it wants the page loaded.

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2017

Re: Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

Shown below is the way I've loaded the paper and the job status messages and job details. I set up in the control panel the dimensions, paper weight, and color (I just chose green because that seemed the closest color to scantron, although white paper color didn't make any difference.)

 

IMG_1430.jpgIMG_1430.jpgIMG_1431.jpg

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 6,013
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

MS Word is the problem, it is over riding the driver and specifying for 8.5*11 instead of the custom size (I'm assuming you did set the size and tray in the Xerox driver here).

 

Capture.JPG

 

 

 

 

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2017

Re: Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

I am on a Mac, if that makes a difference. I had set the document size to the correct specifications and even that didn't work. 

Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 6,013
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

Somewhere in your job it is requesting portrait 8.5*11, you need to find it to resolve the issue, the Document Size (Apple) and the paper size (Xerox Features > Paper / Output) or somewhere in the Application itself.

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2017

Re: Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

I'm not sure what to do. I've set up the document size on both the printer and the computer. When i click print, it says "resources not available" and it won't recognize that there is paper in the tray. 
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-02-2017

Re: Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

Screen Shot 2017-10-13 at 10.05.49 AM.png

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-12-2018

Re: Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

Our xerox printers are giving the same error message. I added paper to bypass tray 5 but still can’t get anything to print. I work for a company that uses xerox machines in our stores across the nation. When I called out IT department they informed me that they have been trying to resolve this issue but are having difficulty. They have tried several different things in an attempt to fix the problem, all of which were “resolutions” posted in this forum by Joe. None of them have worked. Our IT department had a xerox technician out to fix this issue however the technician told them he was unable to resolve the problem. How is it that xerox distributed equipment that they cannot fix??
Highlighted
Analyst Nation Moderator
Posts: 6,013
Registered: ‎11-25-2013

Re: Bypass tray won't recognize loaded custom paper

Please PM me the log number associated with your/your IT dept's call(s) to Xerox when you/they spoke to 2nd level support.

If you can't print to tray 5, and tray 5 isn't actually broken (Works as a copier) then they would have escalated the issue to 2nd level support (Not an onsite tech).

 

 

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe.