cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
IronAngel
New Member
New Member

How to AutoReset Copy Jobs back to default once Job is Ccompleted

Product Name: AltaLink C8030 / C8035 / C8045 / C8055 / C8070 Color Multifunction Printer
Operating System: Windows 10 x64

OK, I have several teachers that need this if available. 

Problem, When someone creates a copy job at the printer, (say they set copies to 100), once the job is finished, the next person, that is not paying attension and only wants 1 copy, will get 100 copies.

So, I can't find a setting that resets the copy Dialog box back to 1 copy, after the previous job completes.

Thanks

0 Kudos
8 Replies
TammyL-Xerox
Administrator
Administrator

Re: How to AutoReset Copy Jobs back to default once Job is Ccompleted

Hello IronAngel, 

Please follow the steps listed in this article on How to Specify Default Copy settings

Thanks,
TammyL-Xerox
Community Manager

Be sure to click Kudos for those who have helped you.
Select Accept as Solution for posts that have helped to solve your issue(s)!
andymbody
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Re: How to AutoReset Copy Jobs back to default once Job is Ccompleted

 

Tammy... your link is not working...

@IronAngel - See if this is what you are looking for...

  1. Login as Administrator at the Control Panel.
  2. At the control panel touch screen, touch Device, then touch Tools.
  3. Touch Device SettingsTimersSystem Timeout.
  4. To specify the time the printer waits to log out an inactive user at the control panel, for Minutes and Seconds, touch the arrows, then select values.
  5. To instruct the printer to display a warning message before it logs a user out of the touch screen, for Warning Screen, touch Enabled.
  6. Touch OK.
  7. Logout as Administrator at the Control Panel.

I'm not sure what the default timeout is from the factory (maybe 90 or 120 seconds?),  but I believe the above instuctions will allow you to change the timeout. Just be sure not to set it too low, because this tends to annoy a user while they are standing and the UI running multiple jobs in the same session.

Tip: As an alternative - once each user has complete their work, they can navigate back to the main home icon screen (use Home button) and press the "Reset" button in upper right corner to avoid waiting for the timeout. This will set all apps back to defaults so they are ready for the next user (this will not affect any current jobs that are already running or in que). It's an extra 2-3 clicks for the user, but can feel like added work for busy users.

Hope this helps!

Andy

TammyL-Xerox
Administrator
Administrator

Re: How to AutoReset Copy Jobs back to default once Job is Ccompleted

IronAngel, 

Sorry about the link not working here is the updated link.

Thanks,
TammyL-Xerox
Community Manager

Be sure to click Kudos for those who have helped you.
Select Accept as Solution for posts that have helped to solve your issue(s)!
0 Kudos
IronAngel
New Member
New Member

Re: How to AutoReset Copy Jobs back to default once Job is Ccompleted

Hey, thanks for your reply. We already have the defaults set as 1 copy.

The issue is the Copy box does not revert back to 1 copy after a different setting by a user, such as a 100 copy.

 

On the Printer panel, you actually have to scroll down to see and use the Reset button. I would suggest that the Reset be moved to the top of the Copy window.

0 Kudos
IronAngel
New Member
New Member

Re: How to AutoReset Copy Jobs back to default once Job is Ccompleted

Our current settings, the user does not need to logon to perform a copy. Is this the reason the copy count does not revert back to default?

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
andymbody
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Re: How to AutoReset Copy Jobs back to default once Job is Ccompleted

 

No, this would not be the reason it is not resetting the copy count. How long do the settings of a user remain in effect? It should be about 2 minutes at most unless someone adjusted it outside that range.

If I'm not mistaken, the instructions above should allow you to change the timeout for reverting back to defaults regardless of whether a user is logged in or not.

Many other models have a separate timeout for this function but I would have to look at the C8070 to tell whether this model has a separate setting for this or not. I can post results of that research within a day or two.

Andy

0 Kudos
George850650-XRXN
Technical Escalation User
Technical Escalation User

Re: How to AutoReset Copy Jobs back to default once Job is Ccompleted

IronAngel,

The Timeout setting can be changed that resets the device after a certain period of time inaction.  Here is a screenshot of where to make the adjustment through the Webpage of the device. You will need the IP Address of the machine.

Timeout.jpg

Also, the User can reset the device be selecting the Home button then Reset.

Reset.jpg

I hope this helps.

 

 

IronAngel
New Member
New Member

Re: How to AutoReset Copy Jobs back to default once Job is Ccompleted

Thanks all. I did change the Timeout for the session from 30 minutes, lol to 2 minutes. I tested it via a remote session and it did reset. I believe this is the fix for me.

 

Thanks all

 

Steve