cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
New Member
New Member

Print jobs are deleted, not held

I have set all print jobs on the WC7556 to be held in a private queue until released at the unit (authenticating via LDAP).  Users print through a Win2008r2 print server. 

 

What I get on the WC7556 is an indication that the document was deleted within the private queue identified as for that user.  I do have the Unidentified Job Policy set to delete jobs immediately, but since the printer knows who sent the job, shouldn't it NOT be unidentified? 

 

Any suggestions on what I have missed?

 

Thanks.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Highlighted
Valued Advisor
Valued Advisor

Re: Print jobs are deleted, not held

can you post the steps how you configured this?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
New Member
New Member

Re: Print jobs are deleted, not held

Hmmm.  I don't know that I can repeat the steps, but i can report what I have set.  I'm not entirely sure all the settings that apply here, but...

 

Under: Services -> Printing -> Hold All Jobs

  Hold jobs in a private queue

  -> User Validation policies for relasing jobs: Use ID only

  -> Unidentified Job Policies: Delete Jobs immediately

 

Print Settings

  Delete held jobs after 4320 minutes

 

Security -> Authentication -> User permissions

  Permission Summary for Non-Authenticated User (Print Submitter Unknown)

    Most items never allow access.  Saved Jobs is the exception because I didn't know how it would handle print jobs from a server (known user or not?).

  -> Authenticated Users

    Only the defaults (Print submitter known = Access to all print features)

 

I'm not sure where the Connectivity -> Protocols -> LDAP -> Authorization Access fits into all this, but I do have a group defined for all the Device, Service and Features Access which seems to work when logging into the panel.

 

My only guess is that when printing from a print server, the user is identified, but not authenticated (with the WC7556).  The job comes into a private queue with their name, but because they aren't "known", immediately deleted.  If this is the case, how do I hold jobs privately and let only their "owner" release them?  The Unidentified Job Policies setting mentioned above only has options to print or delete immediately or allow administrators or all users to manage jobs.  Is there some way to authenticate print jobs from the driver side?

 

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Valued Advisor
Valued Advisor

Re: Print jobs are deleted, not held

as soon i have time for this, gonna test it in our showroom...

0 Kudos