Here's what I found Hans. Unfortunately I cannot add images to my forum posts, so below are two hyperlinks to screenshots of the persmissions.
We are using a user other than the server admin account for running the FreeFlow Core services, "FFCore Service".
C:\Program Files\Xerox\FreeFlow Core
This may be a permissions related issue. I've run into a few cases after an upgrade where the permissions of the FFC resources in the file system were preventing changes.
Check to make sure the System and/or user starting the FFC Services has read/write access to the FFC install location and data directories and subdirectories.
<installDrive>:\Program Files\Xerox\FreeFlow Core
I see the -- not being able to save the Save node preset -- problem in 5.4.4. I wrote a BUG against this. I am not seeing the "disappearing" WFs. I'll keep looking.
If you are only modifying the preset (i.e. not changing the name of the preset, but changing the preset properties), the workflow is technically unchanged. As a result, the save button for the workflow will not be enabled.
Last week I made a change to a workflow which was no longer in place this week. Upon further investigation, I realized the change I thought I made never actually took place.
I've recorded the same behavior with a test workflow. The aim in what I'm trying to do is to change the Save Node following a Route Node to a different preset, and save the workflow. You can see in the recording that after I change the preset to a different one, the "Save" button for the workflow is greyed out. Along with that, after closing the workflow many of my workflows, including the one I just made changes to, are no longer visible in the Workflow List.
The only work-around I found for this was to add a new Node and then delete it, which would then allow me to click the "Save" button for the workflow.