With a regular AltBoot (just the AltBoot folder with the DLM inside) you can upgrade or downgrade the machine without lose customer data, the machine will keep the clone and will restore it. With this method the machine will be upgraded/downgraded just on those boards/modules that are not at the same level of software with the firmware you want to download to machine.
You can use the AltBoot with FORCED_UPGRADE and DISABLE_DATA_BACKUP files (sometimes it is recommended) without problem to upgrade/downgrade the machine and to clear customer settings.
There are no other commands.
You cannot upgrade just one module.
Thank you so much for your valuable information.
I think that FORCED_UPGRADE will Upgraded/Downgrade the machine and overwrite all memories, while normal UPGRADE will only Upgrade the machine and cannot downgrade the machine. In fact, it only upgrades the boards with lower version compare with the software. So am I true?
So Where and how can we apply the clone after upgrade?
Additionally, I had a machine which had a PaperCut software installed on it. We FORCED_UPGRADE it, but the machine still had the data and the login method required authentication. So what we did, we formatted the hard disk and FORCED_UPGRADE it. So how can we make sure all data has been removed.
So in this mode the machine does not clone itself and all user data will be lost. So in this case will all the boards be overwritten anyway as well? Or should we do FORCED_UPGRADE it again ?
I have two other questions,
I have a question regarding the software upgrade option using usb flash(AltBoot). Actually as you know there are some command like FORCED_UPGRADE , DISABLE_DATA_BACKUP ,IGNORE_MISSING_MODULES. So I do highly appreciate if anyone provide me a document or explain all the possible commands with description. For example, we had upgraded a machine but still the setting was remained which we expected to have initial setting while we are using FORCED_UPGRADE.
All the best,
Solved! Go to Solution.