cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
New Member
New Member

Set default options for Black & white not updating

We have our setting to default to black and white. It has been set like this foum link. The issue is that if a user changes the printing preferences inside of Devices & Printers. It never defaults back to B&W. If the user changes it to color in an external program such as Word or Adobe, the setting defaults back to B&W since it seems not affect the main defaults.

 

Has anyone come across this issue? The way we have temporarily fixed the problem is in GPO using the "Replace" printer policy. Therefore, all the printers are removed then re-added after a reboot. This seem to be the only way to get the printing preferences to default back to B&W. The reason I say it is a temporary fix, is because re-adding printers on boot will cause a delays and while not a long one it’s still a delay that is compounded as other GPO policies get created in the future.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Highlighted
Valued Advisor
Valued Advisor

Re: Set default options for Black & white not updating

We have our setting to default to black and white. It has been set like this foum link. The issue is that if a user changes the printing preferences inside of Devices & Printers. It never defaults back to B&W. 

This is exactly why it is called Printing Preferences, anything set there becomes the default setting, if you followed the link you provided where I gave the directions, you would have set the default in CWIS and never would have needed to do so in the driver, or set the defaults server side, in which case on the local PC when connected to the server, if you had your user permissions right you could not have set preferences in the local install.

 

If the user changes it to color in an external program such as Word or Adobe, the setting defaults back to B&W since it seems not affect the main defaults.

Word will always use last used settings, not the printing preferences, Acrobat uses the defaults only until changed, it won't reset back until the program is closed (Not just the file, the whole program needs to be closed.)

 

None of this is in any way associated to the Xerox driver or machine, it is simply the way Windows and the apps work, you will get identical outcomes using a Canon or Konica driver.

Please be sure to select "Accept Solution" and or select the thumbs up icon to enter Kudos for posts that resolve your issues. Your feedback counts!

Joe Arseneau
0 Kudos